How Many Reports Are Needed To Delete Facebook Account
Recent events, or just the nature of social media in general, may have you considering a vacation from Facebook. If that isn't an option for you, tighten up your account settings.
But if the social network irritates you, if you've had enough, there are methods to go away. If you're ready to take a vacation from Facebook, here's how to do it.
You have two choices on Facebook: deactivate or delete.
The first could not be simpler. On the desktop, choose Settings & Privacy > Settings from the drop-down menu at the top-right of your screen. On the left, click Your Facebook Information. Scroll down to the bottom and you'll find Deactivate and Deletion. (The direct URL to use when logged in is here.)
On iOS or Android, go to the three-line hamburger menu at the bottom, then Settings & Privacy > Settings > Personal Information > Manage Account > Deactivate.
Facebook will try everything it can to keep you around, including emotional blackmail about how much your friends will miss you.
“Deactivation” is not the same as “unsubscribing” from Facebook. Yes, your timeline will vanish, you won't be able to access the site or your account via mobile applications, friends won't be able to post or contact you, and you'll lose access to any third-party services that utilize (or need) Facebook login. However, the account is not deleted by Facebook. Why? As a result, you may reactivate it later. “This may be temporary,” it states right there when you deactivate.
In case the anticipated re-activation does not occur, download a copy of all your Facebook data—posts, pictures, videos, conversations, and so on—from the menu for Settings & Privacy > Settings > Your Facebook Information > Download. View > Download Your Information. What you discover may surprise you.
Go to facebook.com/help/delete account to permanently delete your Facebook account. Just keep in mind that “after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users,” according to Facebook's data use policy.In other words, if you leave a remark on a friend's status update or picture, it will stay even if you deactivate your own profile. Some of your posts and photos may also remain on Facebook servers for up to 90 days after deletion, but only on Facebook servers, not live on the site.
There is a 30-day delete grace period. That means you have a month before Facebook permanently deletes your account, just in case you change your mind. It's simply another way Facebook shows how much it cares.
Deletion (or Memorial) on Others' Behalf
If you wish to alert Facebook about a person you know is under the age of 13, report the account. If Facebook can “reasonably verify” that the account is being used by someone under the age of 13 (Facebook prohibits children under the age of 13 to comply with federal law), it will deactivate the account immediately and without notifying anybody.
For individuals who are physically handicapped and therefore unable to use Facebook, there is a special form to request account deactivation. To make this work, the requester must demonstrate that they are the guardian of the individual in issue (through power of attorney) as well as provide an official letter from a doctor or medical institution stating the incapacity. Redact any information required to maintain privacy, such as medical account numbers, addresses, and so forth.
If a user has died, a legacy contact—a Facebook friend or family selected by the account owner before they died—can get access to that person's timeline after Facebook approves it. A link to an obituary or other paperwork, such as a death certificate, may be required by the legacy contact. Facebook will “memorialize” the page so that the dead's timeline lives on under the supervision of the legacy contact, who will be able to edit the deceased's profile image and cover picture, manage any tribute postings made by other friends, and handle new friend requests made of the deceased. Above the person's name, the page will read “Remembering.”
If the legacy contact chooses, they may have the page completely deleted.
Under Settings & Privacy > Settings > Memorialization Settings, you may choose a particular legacy contact person to manage your account after your death. Once you've set one up (and you can only have one), Facebook will send you a reminder every year to double-check that the contact information is still correct.
You have the option of ensuring that if the legacy contact reports you to Facebook as dead after you die, your account is deleted—even if the legacy contact wishes the timeline to remain remembered.