How To Log Out Of Gmail Of Your Phone And All Other Connected Devices

On an unfamiliar computer, forgetting to log out of Gmail poses a significant privacy risk. Fortunately, signing out—from a device to which you no longer have access—is simple. Gmail may be signed out in four different ways.

How to Logout of Gmail on the Internet

If you’re using a shared computer, remember to log out of your Gmail or Google account once you’ve finished using it. You cannot sign out of your Gmail account by just closing the tab.

Open the Gmail website in the browser where you signed in to sign out of Gmail on the web. Then, in the top-right corner of the window, click the Google Profile symbol and choose the “Sign Out” option.

(If you have several accounts open, this button will say “Sign out of All Accounts.”) Because there’s no option to log out of several accounts selectively from this page, you’ll have to sign out of all of them.)

You’ll be logged out of the browser immediately.

However, the browser will remember your email address (but not your password) to make it easier to log in. If you’re concerned about your privacy, you should delete your account from the browser entirely.

Click the “Remove an Account” option on the “Choose an Account” page.

Then, next to the account, click the red delete button (a minus sign in a circle).

To confirm, click the “Yes, Remove” option in the pop-up.

Your account will be completely deactivated in the browser.

How to Log Out of Gmail on iPhone and iPad

You have two options for signing out of the Gmail app on your iPhone or iPad. You may either temporarily suspend or fully delete your Gmail account from the device.

Open the Gmail app on your iPhone or iPad and touch the Google Profile button in the top-right corner of the screen.

Tap the “Manage Accounts on This Device” option in the menu that opens.

A list of all the accounts that have been added to your device will appear. Tap the switch next to an account’s name if you wish to temporarily deactivate it.

Tap the “Remove from This Device” option to completely sign out of the device.

Confirm using the “Remove” button in the pop-up.

Gmail will now sign you out of your account entirely. To return to the Gmail home screen, tap the “Done” button at the top of the Manage Accounts page.

On Android, how do you log out of the Gmail app?

The Android operating system is inextricably connected to the Google account (along with Gmail). And the only way to log out of Gmail on Android is to log out of your whole Google account.

On Android, you must utilize the Settings app to log out of your Gmail account. The Settings interface will vary based on whatever Android smartphone you’re using, but the procedures will remain the same.

The Accounts tab in Settings may be accessed straight from the Gmail client through a convenient shortcut. On your Android smartphone, open the Gmail app and touch the Google Profile symbol in the top-right corner of the screen.

Select “Manage Accounts on This Device” from the drop-down menu.

This will take you to the “Accounts” section of the Settings menu. Select the Gmail account from which you wish to log out.

After that, press the “Remove Account” option.

To confirm, press the “Remove Account” button on the pop-up once again.

You will be logged out of the Gmail app and your Google account will be deleted from your Android smartphone.

How to Log Out of Gmail from a Lost or Stolen Device

Even if you don’t have access to a device, you may log out of it using the device management function in your Google account. This option will come in useful if you misplace your laptop or smartphone.

In your browser, go to your Gmail account, click the Google Profile symbol in the top-right corner, and choose “Manage Your Google Account.”

Select the “Security” option, and then, at the bottom of the “Your Devices” section, click the “Manage Devices” button

A list of all the devices that are presently signed in to your Google (and Gmail) account will appear. Choose the “Sign Out” option from the menu button (three dots) on the device you wish to sign out of.

To confirm, click the “Sign Out” option in the pop-up.

Final Words

Your Google Account will be deactivated on the specified device. Follow these instructions to sign out of any additional devices you wish to sign out of remotely.