How To Create Your Photos Private On Facebook

How To Make Your Photos Private On Facebook

There are numerous reasons why you should make your Facebook photos private. Aside from privacy issues, the site is rife with unscrupulous fraudsters looking to take advantage of other users.

To address this problem, Facebook offers customized options that enable you to limit access to your pictures or hide them from others. You may make some just accessible by your friends, while others are totally private and only viewable by you.

Here’s all you need to know about making pictures private on Facebook.

How to Protect Your Facebook Photos

You may alter the privacy settings of whole albums or individual pictures on Facebook to make them private.

How to Make Facebook Albums Private

Instead of having to make pictures private one by one, you may alter the privacy of a whole album on Facebook to save time.

However, keep in mind that you can only change the audience of your own pictures, not those of your friends.

To make a Facebook picture album private, take these steps:

  1. Navigate to the Photos tab from your profile.
  2. Then, under Albums, locate the pictures you wish to keep private.
  3. Navigate to the appropriate album and then click the three dots in the upper right corner.
  4. Then click Edit. You’ll notice a section labeled “Friends” or “Public,” along with a symbol depicting two individuals. To alter the audience of your album, click that.
  5. You can select who may see the album from this page. Select Only Me if you don’t want anyone else to view this album and want to make it private.
  6. Then choose either Save (desktop) or Done (mobile).

If you don’t want to keep the pictures entirely private and still want to share them, but with a more restricted audience, you may choose the Friends, Friends except, or Specific friends audience choices.

If you just want to display the album to a group of friends on a certain list, go to Show Lists and choose the list with whom you want to share the album.

How to Create Individual Photographs Private

Individual pictures on Facebook may also be made private by changing their privacy settings.

Remember that you may only alter the privacy settings of certain pictures inside particular groups or albums, such as Photos of You, Uploads, Profile Photo, Cover Photo, Timeline Photos, and Mobile Photos. Photos submitted in batches alongside others and as part of an album will adhere to the album’s settings.

To make a single Facebook picture private, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to your profile and choose the Photos tab. Then choose whatever picture you wish to make private. In the upper right corner, click the three dots.
  2. Choose Edit post privacy.

3.To remove the picture from your timeline and make it private, change the privacy option to Only Me.

  1. You may also choose additional audience choices if you don’t want to totally conceal the picture and just make it less visible.

Who Can See My Facebook Photos? How to Examine

You may browse your public profile on Facebook to double-check the privacy of your pictures. This is the profile that anybody who isn’t a friend of yours may view.

You’ll utilize Facebook’s “View As” function to do this. It is available on both the Facebook website and the Facebook app.

Go to your profile to activate this mode. To open a dropdown menu, click the three dots next to Edit Profile, then choose View As.

This will display all past postings that individuals who are not in your Facebook friends list or the platform may view. While in View As mode, you cannot alter the privacy settings, but you may make a note of the pictures and dates so you can locate them later.

When you’ve decided which pictures to make private, exit View As public mode by clicking on your thumbnail in the upper right corner of your screen or clicking back.

How to Hide Photos from the Public on Facebook in the Future

The latest privacy settings you select for a picture will be applied automatically the next time you upload a photo. So, if you set a prior picture’s audience to Only Me, it will be the default option for the next photo you upload.

Click the audience options button to modify the audience settings of the picture you’re going to upload. You’ll find it just underneath your name.

You may modify the post audience from here, then click Done to return to your post. When you’re ready to share the picture, click Post.

Always double-check this button before uploading or posting anything to Facebook. You should do this just to ensure that you are not inadvertently sharing pictures or information with individuals who are not on the site and are not on your friends list.

Also, check your profile in View As mode on a frequent basis to see whether you have inadvertently shared anything with the public.

Doing this check on a regular basis will assist ensure that you catch any of these images as soon as possible. Remember that the longer these pictures are posted openly on social media, the more likely it is that a fraudster would get them.

Self-Protection and the Protection of Your Loved Ones

A excellent cyber hygiene practice is to review your social media accounts and change the audience settings on your pictures to private. It will not only safeguard your data, but also the privacy of your loved ones who may be in the photos you submit.

Final Words

Keep in mind that there are unethical hackers and fraudsters out there searching for ways to take advantage of others.